Windows Says You Have Files Waiting to be Burned to Disc

Written by Alan Sunday, 19 June 2011 08:00

you have files waiting to be burned to disc Windows Says You Have Files Waiting to be Burned to Disc

One of the most annoying messages in Windows occurs on login when a balloon pops up saying that “you have files waiting to be written to disc.”  It’s been pervasive since the days of Windows XP, and it’s no different in Windows 7.  Any number of things can trigger it, so rather that going into a lengthy discussion of possible culprits, let’s focus on an easy fix.

In this case it’s very easy.  In fact I wish all Windows problems could be fixed so simply.

1. Open the DVD or CD drive, or click on the balloon to view the files that “waiting to be burned.”

2. Highlight all of the files, right-click and choose Delete.

delete pending burn files Windows Says You Have Files Waiting to be Burned to Disc

That’s all there is to it.  One annoying problem fixed in under one minute.  If only thing could always go this smoothly.  Maybe in Windows 8 these simple things will get better?  But, given that it’s been an ongoing issue since XP, I am not holding my breath.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.
 Windows Says You Have Files Waiting to be Burned to Disc

Alan

Alan is the owner and editor of Making Windows Easy. In addition to writing about technology he is also an avid distance runner and hiker. Read More

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook

Related posts:



1 Comment

  1. Wade   |  Wednesday, 17 October 2012 at 9:50 am

    “In this case it’s very easy. In fact I wish all Windows problems could be fixed so simply.

    1. Open the DVD or CD drive, or click on the balloon to view the files that “waiting to be burned.”

    2. Highlight all of the files, right-click and choose Delete.”
    ****************************************************************************************
    My question:

    I assume that this action will NOT affect (delete) these same files that are saved in the “My Documents” folder.
    Is this correct? Many Thanks, Wade

Leave a Reply